top of page
Search

Uni life at it's finest

New week, new luck? Yeah maybe. Or maybe not.

It’s been a pretty basic week here in Uist. My week started with a horrible cold that’s still not gone, but we’re getting there. It’s all a process. We worked on more stuff for a friend’s recital in April, which is going to be so good! Can’t wait to perform it! Furthermore we’ve put more sets for the gig in Berneray together and are really excited to perform them all.



My cold has set me back a bit and I didn’t manage to get as much done as I wanted, but sometimes all you need is a little rest. Apart from that I really do feel better now and feel that the rest speeded up the process.


My friend is coming today. Yay! She’s coming again and I can’t wait to work on some material! We play a concert together in the summer and can now start preparing what we want to include in the repertoire. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to show her the island a bit as well, as we didn’t really do that last time. Let’s see if we’ll have a swim again. Last time it was in October, now it’s March I think that’s pretty much the same conditions.



For a few weeks now we have weekly sessions in a bistro in Balivanich and it’s great! The owner gives us food as well and it’s so cozy in there. Such a nice atmosphere! There’s more folk coming round every week and there are a lot of great tunes. What a great start and I hope it will grow and bring even more music to the island. Hup!


The weekend has been very chilled, but I managed to catch up on some lectures and general uni stuff. Now that I’m back on track it’s good to know what to do till the end of the year. With my friend here I will probably not manage to get it done but at least I know what to do and can do it after coming back from the mainland.



Plans for the summer concerts are shaping up and it’s very exciting! We’re on the way on getting a second gig which is awesome! As both the lads that are joining us for the concert in summer are on the mainland my friend and I are possibly going to the mainland for some days of rehearsals and arranging! Exciting times.


Apart from that it was International Women’s Day yesterday. To be honest: I’m not the biggest fan of these days, I think you shouldn’t overact on these days BUT I think it’s a great opportunity to appreciate the women that shaped you. Which for me is definitely: my mommy! Without my mommy I wouldn’t be where I am now. She has taught me so much and is such an inspirational person. She’s is an amazing musician (even though she won’t admit it herself!), the most amazing mom anyone could ask, the organized person I have ever met and the coolest bean on earth! Lots of love to all the moms out there!



That’s all for now! Have a good one & send all your moms extra love this week!

Cheerio bye, Emilia

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page